InterSystems Official
Benjamin De Boe · Oct 19, 2020

InterSystems IRIS and IRIS for Health 2020.4 preview now available!

Preview releases are now available for the 2020.4 version of InterSystems IRIS, IRIS for Health and IRIS Studio. As this is a preview release, we are eager to learn from your experiences with this new release ahead of its General Availability next month.InterSystems IRIS Data Platform 2020.4 makes it even easier to develop, deploy and manage augmented applications and business processes that bridge data and application silos. It has many new capabilities including:

Enhancements for application and interface developers, including:

  • Support for Java SE 11 LTS, both when using Oracle OpenJDK and AdoptOpenJDK
  • Support for Connection Pooling for JDBC
  • A new "foreach" action in routing rules for segmented virtual documents

Enhancements for database and system administrators, including:

  • ICM now supports deploying System Alerting and Monitoring (SAM) and InterSystems API Manager (IAM)
  • Extensions to our SQL syntax for common administrative tasks
  • Simplified deployment for InterSystems Reports

  

InterSystems IRIS for Health 2020.4 includes all of the enhancements of InterSystems IRIS. In addition, this release includes

  • Enhanced FHIR support, including support for FHIR profiles
  • Support for the RMD IHE profile
  • DataGate support in the HL7 Migration Tooling

 

More details on these features can be found in the product documentation:

As this is a CD release, it is only available in OCI (Open Container Initiative) a.k.a. Docker container format.  Container images are available for OCI compliant run-time engines for Linux x86-64 and Linux ARM64, as detailed in the Supported Platforms document.

 

Container images for the Enterprise Edition and all corresponding components are available from the InterSystems Container Registry using the following commands:

docker pull containers.intersystems.com/intersystems/iris:2020.4.0.524.0
docker pull containers.intersystems.com/intersystems/irishealth:2020.4.0.524.0

For a full list of the available images, please refer to the ICR documentation.

Container images for the Community Edition can also be pulled from the Docker store using the following commands:

docker pull store/intersystems/iris-community:2020.4.0.524.0
docker pull store/intersystems/iris-community-arm64:2020.4.0.524.0
docker pull store/intersystems/irishealth-community:2020.4.0.524.0
docker pull store/intersystems/irishealth-community-arm64:2020.4.0.524.0

Alternatively, tarball versions of all container images are available via the WRC's preview download site.

 

InterSystems IRIS Studio 2020.4 is a standalone development image supported on Microsoft Windows. It works with InterSystems IRIS and IRIS for Health version 2020.4 and below, as well as with Caché and Ensemble. It can be downloaded via the WRC's preview download site.

The build number for this preview release is 2020.4.0.524.0 (updated from 2020.4.0.521.0  on Nov 2nd)

110
1 3 24 692
Log in or sign up to continue

Replies

And we updated the images with ZPM 0.2.7 too:

intersystemsdc/iris-community:2020.3.0.221.0-zpm

intersystemsdc/iris-community:2020.4.0.524.0-zpm

intersystemsdc/iris-ml-community:2020.3.0.302.0-zpm

intersystemsdc/irishealth-community:2020.3.0.221.0-zpm

intersystemsdc/irishealth-community:2020.4.0.524.0-zpm

intersystemsdc/iris-community-arm64:2020.4.0.524.0-zpm

intersystemsdc/irishealth-community-arm64:2020.4.0.524.0-zpm

And to launch IRIS do:

docker run --rm --name my-iris -d --publish 9091:1972 --publish 9092:52773 intersystemsdc/iris-community:2020.3.0.221.0-zpm

docker run --rm --name my-iris -d --publish 9091:1972 --publish 9092:52773 intersystemsdc/iris-community:2020.4.0.524.0-zpm

docker run --rm --name my-iris -d --publish 9091:1972 --publish 9092:52773 intersystemsdc/iris-ml-community:2020.3.0.302.0-zpm

docker run --rm --name my-iris -d --publish 9091:1972 --publish 9092:52773 intersystemsdc/irishealth-community:2020.3.0.221.0-zpm

docker run --rm --name my-iris -d --publish 9091:1972 --publish 9092:52773 intersystemsdc/irishealth-community:2020.4.0.524.0-zpm

docker run --rm --name my-iris -d --publish 9091:1972 --publish 9092:52773 intersystemsdc/iris-community-arm64:2020.4.0.524.0-zpm

docker run --rm --name my-iris -d --publish 9091:1972 --publish 9092:52773 intersystemsdc/irishealth-community-arm64:2020.4.0.524.0-zpm 

And for terminal do:

docker exec -it my-iris iris session IRIS

and to start the control panel:

http://localhost:9092/csp/sys/UtilHome.csp

To stop and destroy container do:

docker stop my-iris

Hi,

SuperServer port since 2020.3 is 1972 :

docker run --rm --name my-iris -d --publish 9091:1972 --publish 9092:52773 intersystemsdc/iris-community:2020.3.0.221.0-zpm

docker run --rm --name my-iris -d --publish 9091:1972 --publish 9092:52773 intersystemsdc/iris-community:2020.4.0.521.0-zpm

docker run --rm --name my-iris -d --publish 9091:1972 --publish 9092:52773 intersystemsdc/irishealth-community:2020.3.0.221.0-zpm

docker run --rm --name my-iris -d --publish 9091:1972 --publish 9092:52773 intersystemsdc/irishealth-community:2020.4.0.521.0-zpm

Thanks again, Guillaume!

fixed! 

ZPM images are updated with a new IRIS 2020.4.0.524.0 build.

Hi - 

Note that using the ZPM images to build a HealthShare Foundation namespace (interoperability enabled database and namespace), using the HealthShare -> Installer wizard -> Configure Foundation ; .

OR you can try this, using this line:

ZN "HSLIB"
DO ##class(HS.HC.Util.Installer).InstallFoundation("MYNAMESPACE")

will hang mid-way.

However,  above operations complete successfully using the standard, non-ZPM enhanced builds.
I haven't tested any other functionality.

Steve

Thanks, Steve! Just to clarify: this issue is related to ZPM-enabled IRIS for Health images, right? Filed the issue.

Just tested on 2020.4 zpm enabled:

HSLIB>DO ##class(HS.HC.Util.Installer).InstallFoundation("HSFOUNDATION")


HS.Util.Installer.Foundation:Install User 'irisowner' has %Admin_Manage:USE privilege

HS.Util.Installer.Foundation:Install tComponent Foundation = HSFOUNDATION

HS.Util.Installer.Foundation:Install About to Create Database HSFOUNDATION

HS.Util.Installer.Foundation:Install Create IRIS.DAT in HSFOUNDATION

HS.Util.Installer.Foundation:Install Made Namespace HSFOUNDATION

HS.HC.Util.Installer:EnableEnsemble Created Ensemble Mappings

HS.HC.Util.Installer:EnableEnsemble Configuration Loaded

HS.HC.Util.Installer:EnableEnsemble Compiling Ensemble DeepSee Dashboard

HS.HC.Util.Installer:EnableEnsemble Ensemble Enabled

HS.Util.Installer.Foundation:SecureInstall Added Package mappings HS,HSMOD,SchemaMap

HS.Util.Installer.Foundation:SecureInstall Added include mappings HSMOD.*,SchemaMap*

HS.Util.Installer.Foundation:Install Created Portal CSP app

HS.Util.Installer.Foundation:CreateProduction Compiled template HSFOUNDATIONPKG.FoundationProduction

HS.Util.Installer.Foundation:AdditionalSetup Set Credential HS_Services

Running HS.Util.Installer.Kit.PostInstall.SetupOIDRegistry:RunHub(HSFOUNDATION) 

Ran HS.Util.Installer.Kit.PostInstall.SetupOIDRegistry:RunHub with status OK

Running HS.Util.Installer.Kit.PostInstall.AssignAuthTypes:RunHub(HSFOUNDATION) 

Ran HS.Util.Installer.Kit.PostInstall.AssignAuthTypes:RunHub with status OK

HS.Util.Installer.Foundation:SecureInstall Recompiled XML extension classesSaving hl7.fhir.r3.core@3.0.2

Saving hl7.fhir.r4.core@4.0.1

Saving hl7.fhir.us.core@3.1.0

Load Resources: hl7.fhir.r3.core@3.0.2

Load Resources: hl7.fhir.r4.core@4.0.1

Resource Used in Multiple Packages: http://healthit.gov/nhin/purposeofuse|2.0(hl7.fhir.r3.core@3.0.2,hl7.fhir.r4.core@4.0.1)

Resource Used in Multiple Packages: http://dicom.nema.org/resources/ontology/DCM|01(hl7.fhir.r3.core@3.0.2,hl7.fhir.r4.core@4.0.1)

Load Resources: hl7.fhir.us.core@3.1.0


HS.FHIRServer.Installer:InstallNamespace Created FHIR web application

HS.FHIRServer.Installer:InstallNamespace Created FHIR API web application

Load of directory started on 11/04/2020 08:59:25


Loading file /usr/irissys/dev/fhir/gbl/XFReferenceField.xml as xml

Imported global: ^HS.XF.ReferenceField

Loading file /usr/irissys/dev/fhir/gbl/XFTransform.xml as xml

Imported global: ^HS.XF.Transform

Loading file /usr/irissys/dev/fhir/gbl/XFValueSet.xml as xml

Imported global: ^HS.XF.ValueSet

Loading file /usr/irissys/dev/fhir/gbl/XFConfig.xml as xml

Imported global: ^HS.XF.Config

Loading file /usr/irissys/dev/fhir/gbl/XFReferenceType.xml as xml

Imported global: ^HS.XF.ReferenceType

Load finished successfully.


HS.Util.Installer.Foundation:SecureInstall Install HSFOUNDATION done at 2020-11-04 08:59:26

HSLIB>w $zv

IRIS for UNIX (Ubuntu Server LTS for x86-64 Containers) 2020.4 (Build 524U) Thu Oct 22 2020 13:04:25 EDT

HSLIB>zpm

zpm: HSLIB>version


%SYS> zpm 0.2.8

 Locally installed zpm-registry not found

https://pm.community.intersystems.com - 0.0.2

zpm: HSLIB>

It works.  I guess the issue is with your docker, it could run out of resources.

@Steve Pisaniif you perform docker cleanup (it's safe):

docker system prune -f

and test again?

Another idea - your docker just doesn't have enough resources for this. I have 6GB memory and 200G space.

well that sucks.... 

docker system prune -f
Deleted Containers:
98a246148a9bbe5dd84ca435368dcc072173660320c7b3198788d135bb4a17bb
d53fcde88168b084928bda0a95daecfa08661efcdf5e04b875e75b9c45f373c1
54e4d30989a7b94a828d8e554acf6ad6caa9ca74928b28db011bfc30148cfe68
42f1432d7f62bbd0b6a9f8c4dc6e1e74fb9d6717c3c45b8a53d4228506cf4599

then re-running .. worked...

That may seem a great outcome to some, but, this un-predictability or, failure to report what the issue is (remember, the issue manifested in an IRIS process hanging), is not ideal. 

Also - I did try with non-ZPM containers successfully multiple times, whilst I was getting the issue, just to ensure, the issue was with only the zpm ones. It worked fine every time with non-ZPM containers.

Steve

Just to clarify again - these types of issues are not related to ZPM anyhow.

But yes - this happens with docker sometimes, it's a "dark side" of docker-way of software development ;) If something doesn't work without a reason every time I do the following:

1) build without cache:

docker-compose build --no-cache

2) clean up docker:

docker system prune -f

In a lot of cases, this helps.

And maybe it's a trigger for us to make docker images smaller, @Steven LeBlanc , @Luca Ravazzolo ?

Another approach is not having docker locally at all - e.g. Github Codespaces very promising way forward, you code in a browser and use Github's docker infrastructure (which is endless?).

yes - I can't expect it was related to ZPM, but definitely seemed that way when it was the only image that didn't work in that state. 

Warning I guess for others reading this thread:  

docker system prune -f

Did remove 3 containers I had created, run and stopped on my system (but was planning to get back to them and start them again).  

thanks for now..

Yes, it removes not used/stopped containers, but usually, it's safe:  I hope you don't store anything important in a container.  

added the line for IntegratedML image with ZPM:

intersystemsdc/iris-ml-community:2020.3.0.302.0-zpm

ARM images with ZPM added:

intersystemsdc/iris-community-arm64:2020.4.0.524.0-zpm

intersystemsdc/irishealth-community-arm64:2020.4.0.524.0-zpm

The reply is updated accordingly

UPDATE: We uploaded an updated version of our 2020.4 preview release, including a small number of additional enhancements in the broader SQL area that missed the boat for the scheduled preview release date. These features meet the quality requirements for inclusion in the GA release later this month so we thought it was worthwhile sharing them in preview mode for users to try ahead of time.

The new build number is 524, up from 521. The new images have been posted on the ICR, Docker Store and WRC locations as described above and the docker pull scripts have been updated.

As always, we're looking forward to your feedback!

Hi Benjamin, does 2020.4 include Ebedded Python ?

No, that capability is projected for official release with 2021.1.

Please reach out to @Bob Kuszewski  if you are interested in joining an expert panel or join this Discord channel for the latest on our Python support.

We greatly appreciate the support for FHIR packages in 2020.4. We have encountered issues with long FHIR package names, however; it seems as though MAXLENs of strings are a little short in HS.FHIRMeta.Storage.Package. Does it make sense to report such issues with a preview edition somewhere? If so, I am happy to provide details on it.

Only now will I be able to enjoy this wonder. I was very much looking forward to this. I hope that there is no very drastic change and that it forces me to change something.

I would like to know which channels can get the trial version?

I look forward to migrating and starting using this new version. Although, I already know that it got even better. Thank you!