Question
· Feb 4, 2021

Development and production servers with GIT as version control

Hi,

So I am a front end developer working with REST API with Cache database on the BE. The BE guys are currently using Cache through a Windows virtual machine and they claim it is not possible to have a development server to work with. All the work they are doing is directly on the production server and changes are immediate and I think this is a bad idea going forward and we most definitely need a development server that has access to the same code base and different version (through git) to be able to do development. We also do all the testing on this production server with test accounts, but we cannot do automated testing with this setup.

Is it possible with Cache 2017.1 to have GIT as source control and the scenario I described above with development server up and running to use the same code base sourced through git ?

Product version: Caché 2017.1
$ZV: field not included in the demo video, so I don't know what this is
Discussion (11)2

Thanks @Dmitry Maslennikov 

I am not actually working on this BE with Cache, I am developing the FE for an app that uses Cache on the BE and they keep telling me it's not possible to have a development server because then they would need to have a separate server with a different copy of the cache codebase because for some reason it's baked into the database and they would then need to update both servers separately.

They don't use source control at all, they just write everything on the production server and it's live right away

DO you know anything about this kind of issue ?

Yeah, It's a bit tricky. All the code in Caché really stored directly in the database. But with VSCode, code can be stored locally as files, for easy access and the ability to use source control such as git. After any save of the file related to Caché, e.g. Classes or routines, it will be sent to the server and compiled there.