Question
· Apr 11, 2018

Why can I not 'Assign' request directly to a context variable ?

I am rather new to ObjectScript and I have a query about assigning values to the context.

In  BPL I have a context variable (A08Msg) which is set to type Enslib.HL7.Message, I want to put my inbound HL7 message into this variable so I tried:

• an Assign to set context.A08Msg to request

This seemed to load the message into the variable because I could read values, e.g. using  context.A08Msg.{PD1:3(1).1} , but I was unable to write to context.A08Msg.

As an alternate method I built a dummy transform that transformed request into context.A08Msg , using this methodI was able to both read and write to context.A08Msg.

I would prefer not to have dummy DTLs laying around and so I was wondering if anyone could explain why I can transform into a context variable but not just assign into it, (my suspicion is that maybe I am dealing with pointers/OREFs).

Could anyone help me understand what is going wrong here,  and suggest how I can load the incoming 'request' into the context variable and be able to write to it without a DTL?

Thanks, Andy 

Discussion (7)1

Thanks Eduard,

I determined that I could not write by later in the BPL assigning a value to context.A08Msg.{PD1:4(2).1} which did not save the changes; however,  when I changed the BPL to load context.A08Msg by calling a Transform  - a DTL which simply passed the source (request) to the target(context.A08Msg) - then the assign to context.A08Msg.{PD1:4(2).1} worked as expected.

I suspect the problem lies in the fact that request is an ens.request object while A08Msg is an EnsLib.HL7.Message object (as Robert suggested, but which does not seem to have been added as a comment).

Thanks for the response, I will try the request.%ConstructClone(1) method to see what effect this has.

but I was unable to write to context.A08Msg.

How did you determine that?