Article
· Sep 6, 2017 4m read

Polling an External REST API with Ensemble

Preface

Before we begin, I'd like to mention that I am by no means an Ensemble expert, so take this with a grain of salt and please feel free to offer any suggestions for improvement. That being said, I have enjoyed working with Ensemble and wanted to share the approach I took to poll an external REST API for patient data in the hopes that it might help others with a similar goal.

If you get bored easily and just want to see some code, feel free to jump straight to the example on github. It uses dummy data (for obvious reasons) but the core principles should be the same.

The Goal

The goal of the project was to read a global containing a list of critical results and query an external REST API to determine whether they had been viewed. If they were, we could perform some logic on our side and remove them from our pending list, otherwise we would check again on our next poll interval.

Design Decisions

I wanted to gain as much reuse out of my operations as possible and stick to the Ensemble way of doing things as best I could, so I decided on the following:

1. A service would loop through our Global and pass an Ens.Request message to a BPL
  2. The BPL would be in charge of handling all the business logic (and storing application state as context variables)
  3. All REST calls would be made via an operation, with the Server, URL, Action (e.g. GET, POST, etc), and Content Type being exposed as configuration settings.
  4. The REST Operation would take a custom Ens.Request message with fields for Form Variables and/or a JSON Payload.
  5. The REST Operation would return a custom Ens.Response message with a field for the Server's JSON response string.

In order to accomplish items 3- 5 I ended up extending the stock EnsLib.REST.Operation class.

The Operation

The full code for this operation can be found on github, but the gist of it is as follows: