Article
· Sep 21, 2016 7m read

REST in Pieces

A beginners guide to develop Ensemble RESTful web services.

Background

Before you start reading this short introduction please go through the on-line documentation of Ensemble with special attention to chapter “Creating REST services and clients with Ensemble”.

The approach in the documentation is undisputable the fastest and easiest way to create RESTful services. As a beginner I went through the documentation and I had several questions. This short article is listing those questions plus my humble answers.

When I refer to documentation I mean Ensemble 2016.2 and onwards.

What does an Ensemble service make RESTful?

We all learnt, that an Ensemble service becomes any specific (like file service) by binding a specific inbound adapter to generic service. For example EnsLib.HL7.Service.Standard in combination with EnsLib.File.InboundAdapter constructs a HL7 file service. OK. Even if this logic did not apply entirely to SOAP services this is a common way how services are built.

But is this “standard_service+specific_adapter” schema works with RESTful services? Not quite. The documentation say:

To develop a REST service you extend the class EnsLib.REST.Service. … Implementing a REST service is an extension of implementing the %CSP.REST class and implementing an HTTP service.

Great. Even easier than I thought. By subclassing EnsLib.REST.Service I got everything for free. We are done with answering the question: any subclass of EnsLib.REST.Service is an Ensemble RESTful service. It is that straight. Isn’t it?

It seems that simple until you do not read the following note:

In most cases, we recommend that you use Ensemble’s CSP port and not a special port. Using Ensemble’s CSP port allows you to use a full-featured web server to provide robustness and security.

Fine. I stay with the recommendation. But is security the only difference? Well, please read the whole section after the cited note.