Announcement
· Apr 20, 2016

Experimental project for unit testing + coverage; and help needed

Hello community!

Heretofore is announced a new project which aims at providing a usable library for both running unit tests and collecting code coverage information at the same time:

https://github.com/litesolutions/cache-utcov

I shamelessly admit that this is my first project written in ObjectScript; the only source file right now barely loads a %Studio.Project instance on a given namespace and fails ungracefully on failure (it HALTs; meh); and even on success it will not even list the items correctly... Well, that's part of the learning curve.

This project is of course not "innocent": for CachéQuality, we want that information (the result of unit tests and coverage information). But we believe that it is in the interest of a lot of people that a package exists which provides such information in as generic a way as possible.

While no license file is present yet, this project will be licensed under the MIT license (this seems to be the license of choice for all current open source COS projects I've seen so far).

As this is the first item on my TODO list, expect frequent code updates... And a flood of questions :)

Regards,

Discussion (14)2

Somewhat related to this, I think there's still a useful role for %Studio.Project projects as ad-hoc server-side collections of classes etc that can be assembled independently of your package hierarchy, which typically has to remain far more static. But it's not yet clear to me how these projects (which after all are more correctly called "Studio projects") will evolve/mutate/expire in the brave new world of Atelier.