Article
· Apr 20, 2016 1m read

Feedback on Product Documentation?

We are in the process of putting a new UI on the existing product documentation, including a mobile-optimized view. We also plan on releasing additional "solution based" documentation that is targeted at common usage scenarios or important configuration tasks.

We are interested in your feedback on our current product documentation - what you like and dislike and especially what changes you would expect to see to make it as useful as possible.

Here's a sample screenshot of the new documentation UI:

We have also adopted a new URL for the latest product documentation, which can always be found here:

http://docs.intersystems.com/latest/csp/docbook/DocBook.UI.Page.cls

Discussion (15)2

Hello!

First things first: /latest/ is a great idea!

Now, on to my personal feedback which is obviously biased: I am primarily a Java developer (with prior experience in C), and am seeking to know ObjectScript better... As such, I find that two things are fundamentally missing:

• as mentioned in one of my other posts, a reference documentation of changes between the different versions of Caché (introduction of new classes; classes deprecated from n to n+1; changes in classes between n and n+1; or even new keywords): Java has @since, C has manpages and CONFORMING TO, which both give great, useful information... But there is no equivalent in COS documentation;
  • an official guide for coding guidelines.

All in all, this is rather a feedback on the content rather than the form; not sure whether this is what you expected, but here be dragons :p

Good question. I think we're talking about the case where someone bookmarks content in their browser.