Article
· Dec 20, 2016 5m read

Atelier, The Productivity Boost Tool

Development productivity? Isn’t it kind of an oxymoron? Anyhow, we all dream a magic tool which does the tedious job of the software development and leave the intuitive or creative part on the developer. Atelier is the next generation tool of InterSystems aiming to boost the productivity of Caché/ Ensemble based software development. Atelier is based on the popular Eclipse IDE platform, which makes available the “infinite” pool of third party tools for Caché developers. Those tools can truly boost the productivity. This short article gives some examples how third party plug-ins can help developing for Caché. It is an absolute beginner’s guide, beginner to Eclipse but experienced to Caché.

The first step

Eclipse is an Integrated Development Environment (IDE). A “smart text editor”. Like emacs for UNIX, EDT for RSX or TPU for VMS, Eclipse provides not just the text editing feature but also gives a programming interface to enhance those features. This extensibility makes IDEs being able to facilitate complex development projects where the solution is built of various technologies using several programming/ configuration languages. Programming extensions of Eclipse are called “plug-in”. A plug-in can be plugged in via two distinct methods.

The classic method is to download a plug-in from a repository and install. You can do it from the “Help -> Install New Software” menu of Atelier. That is clear.

The other option is to install from Eclipse Marketplace. In order to take products from a marketplace you need install the “Marketplace Client” plug-in using the classic method. On completing the install you are going to see a new menu item in the Atelier Help menu: “Eclipse Marketplace”.

Ready? Before you go, please note!

Plug-in install changes the way Atelier works. Please make sure that a particular plug-in does not compromise the expected functionality of Atelier prior installing it!