Question
· Apr 27, 2017

How to sign certificate requests from a client system?

Hi, 

I can't work out how to use the Cache CA Server to process certificate request from external clients!

We are setting up an interface where we use SSL/TLS 'Mutual Authentication' to allow a client system to securely transmit document to  our server. (they are off-site and hosting a service for us)

I am not a security expert, but my understanding of setting up mutual authentication where my instance of ensemble is the server, and it is receiving messages from a client is as follows

1. I create a CA private key and self-signed certificate ( or purchase a cert from one of the big providers)
  2. Generate the server certificate and private key
  3. The client generates their own private key and certificate request.
  4. The client sends me their certificate request (only)
  5. I use my CA private key and their certificate request to create the client certificate
  6. I send the Client certificate and  my CA certificate to the client.

When the client initiates a connection with my instance of ensemble, the SSL handshake is used to let both parties confirm they are connecting to who they are connecting to*, and establish a secure channel. 

While the SSl/TLS configurations facility supports setting up client and server configurations,  the Public Key Infrastructure only seems to support signing a certificate request created in the 'InterSystems Public Key Infrastructure (PKI)': 

'5. At this point, you have used Caché to create and submit the CSR.'
(Submitting a Certificate Signing Request to a Certificate Authority Server  at http://docs.intersystems.com/latest/csp/docbook/DocBook.UI.Page.cls?KEY=GCAS_pki#GCAS_pki_csr_submit)

Unfortunately to do 'Mutual Authentication' we need to sign a certificate request sent by the client system.